EN
Home
Sitemap

Top Message
Home>About>Top Message
Based on a “sound present,” we will create a hopeful future for all our stakeholders
Dramatic changes in the world economy and business environment
The world is undergoing big changes, including climate change, depletion of resources, demographic changes, urbanization, multipolarization of the world economy, and changes in the feedstock/energy-resources market. Moreover, dramatic technological progress, such as in artificial intelligence and IoT technologies, is transforming our economy, society, and daily life.
On the other hand, due to the lingering US-China trade frictions and Brexit issues, there are growing uncertainties about the future of the world economy, and these issues might exert some degree of influence over Japan. Despite these challenges, we need to keep managing our business from a medium- to long-term viewpoint, and avoid being easily swayed by short-term changes in the business environment.
The Showa Denko Group is a unique chemical manufacturer engaged in a wide spectrum of business segments including the Petrochemicals, Chemicals, Electronics, Inorganics, and Aluminum segments. By taking advantage of this uniqueness as well as deepening and fusing our inorganic, metal, and organic technologies, we will produce excellent KOSEIHA products to become a “social contribution company” that contributes to creating a society where affluence and sustainability are harmonized.
Results for 2018 and outlook for 2019
As for 2018, sales increased in five segments, but decreased in the Electronics segment. In particular, in the Inorganics segment, we achieved a substantial increase in sales as a result of having integrated the business of SGL GE of Germany (currently SHOWA DENKO CARBON Holding GmbH) into the graphite electrode business in the latter half of 2017, which boosted the segment’s full-year performance. Moreover, the international market showed an upward trend. Consequently, we marked a record high for operating income, ordinary income, and net income for two years in a row.
For 2019, we cannot help being conservative in the seemingly very challenging business environment, but we do expect to achieve an increase in profit by continuing full-scale operation in the Petrochemicals segment and thanks to the upward trend of the international market for graphite electrodes, which we manufacture in the Inorganics segment. In order to return profit to our shareholders in proportion to the favorable business results, we have decided to increase the dividend per share by 10 yen this year to 130 yen.
Launch of “The TOP 2021”

The Showa Denko Group was able to step up its earning power for a “sound present” by implementing the medium-term business plan “Project 2020+” from 2016 to 2018. While attention tends to focus on the substantial increase in profit in two segments—the Petrochemicals segment as well as the Inorganics segment to which the graphite electrode business belongs—we also achieved the predefined medium-term targets and steadily improved profitability in the three segments of Chemicals, Electronics, and Aluminum.

We launched our new medium-term business plan, “The TOP 2021,” in 2019 to achieve further growth and create a hopeful future based on a “sound present.”

As the key to successfully implementing this plan, we have adopted the backcasting method. Backcasting helps us clarify the gaps between our present businesses and KOSEIHA Businesses, which we should establish in the future, and foster measures to narrow the gaps.

In order to show the direction in which we should move forward to narrow the gaps, we have recategorized the existing businesses into new portfolios: “Enhance,” “Grow,” and “Change.” By adding “Create” to these three, we now have four portfolios, with which we will conduct our business operations. We will also enhance our R&D, marketing functions, measures for AI/IoT, and production bases, regarding them as the basis to support the strategies as described above.

By implementing these Group management strategies, the Showa Denko Group will increase sales by 40% to 3.4 trillion yen during the three-year period of “The TOP 2021,” relative to the figures described in “Project 2020+.” We will also expand our operating income by 1.7 times to 480 billion yen and net income to 330 billion yen over the three years.

To achieve such growth, we will give due consideration to asset efficiency, including ROA and ROE, and make efficient and proactive growth investments, which will in turn help increase our profitability.

Expansion of KOSEIHA Businesses

The term “KOSEIHA Company,” which represents the Showa Denko Group’s vision, refers to an aggregate of KOSEIHA Businesses, for each of which the Group takes the top spot in a market of a suitable size (several 10 billion to several 100 billion yen) for the Group.

To achieve this vision, we need to optimize the segments for each of Showa Denko’s businesses. Under “Project 2020+,” we have made progress with the optimal segmentation of our businesses. Under “The TOP 2021,” we will sophisticate our existing business model and achieve business expansion in growth markets as well as across regions and business domains, thereby strengthening and expanding each of the business segments. We will work to increase the number of businesses, including new businesses, that can match the success of the HD, high-purity gas for electronics, and graphite electrode businesses, with an eye to transforming at least half of our existing businesses into KOSEIHA Businesses by 2025 as our medium- to longterm management target.

While making progress to achieve the KOSEIHA Company vision we will strive to maximize the “CUSTOMER Experience,” deeming it as a value that leads us to the enhancement and expansion of the business segments.

It is becoming increasingly difficult to differentiate our products from those of our competitors by quality and pricing alone, and in response to this we will manage our business under the group-wide slogan of providing a “CUSTOMER Experience unique to Showa Denko” for both our products and services.

Toward Sustainable Growth

The Showa Denko Group has been regarding the fulfillment of its corporate social responsibility (CSR) as the basis for its business management. We have been meeting the expectations of all our stakeholders by providing products, technologies, and services that meet the needs of customers and society in addition to conducting business activities in an environment-friendly manner. At the same time, we have been implementing measures to foster compliance, diversity management, and corporate governance.
Recently, companies have been required to incorporate environmental, social, and government (ESG) viewpoints into their business management and give due consideration to the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs). Accordingly, we will foster business that contributes to the creation of a sustainable society, thereby achieving further growth as a going concern that continues to make profit in a stable manner.

We will take actions without being afraid of confronting changes so that the Showa Denko Group can make tremendous achievements as a company contributing to creating a society in which affluence and sustainability are harmonized. We would like to ask you to pay attention to our Group’s future activities.

EN
Home
Sitemap

昭和CEO寄語
首頁>關於和喬>昭和CEO寄語
把握腳踏實地的當下,創造所有利益相關人期待的輝煌明天
劇變中的世界經濟和商業環境
隨著氣候變化、資源逐漸枯竭、人口構造改變、城市化推進、世界經濟的多元化以及原燃料和能源環境變化等,世界潮流也在發生翻天覆地的變化。與此同時,隨著人工智能和loT等領域的技術飛速發展,經濟、社會以及人們的生活也在發生劇變。
另一方面,由於中美貿易摩擦和英國脫歐等問題長期化,世界經濟前景變得迷霧重重。這些問題產生的影響也將波及日本,此時就不能拘泥於短期內的形式變化,而應當採取長遠視角尋求經營之道,這點尤其重要。
昭和電工集團是一家化學製造企業,其顯著特點為事業涉獵範圍廣泛,包括:石油化學、化學品、電子、無機、金屬鋁等等。本集團將該特徵視為我們的潛在優勢,深化並融合無機・金屬、有機化學等技術,通過生產性能優良的“個性派”產品,為創造富裕和可持續發展的和諧社會做出貢獻,力爭成為“社會貢獻型企業”。
2018年實績・2019年預測
根據2018年業績顯示除了電子事業收益有下降之外,其他5大事業均呈現上漲形式,其中,無機事業在2017年下半期開展的項目:收購德國SGL GE(現為昭和電工CARBON Holding GmbH)並進行石墨電極事業的整合取得了預期的效果,隨著國際市場的上升形勢,呈現大幅度增收,其中營業利潤、利潤總額和本期純利潤中連續2年打破了最高記錄。
雖然2019年整體大環境被認為是嚴峻的,保守的。但是,我們預測石油化學事業部門的持續全面運行以及隨著無機事業中的細分市場——石墨電極的國際市場的攀升,本年度公司也將實現利潤的增長。
啟動「The TOP 2021」
昭和電工集團自2016年至2018年期間實施的中期經營計劃「Project 2020+」,我們實現了標誌著當下堅實基礎能力的盈利能力進階提升,雖然石油化學和石墨電極事業所屬的無機兩大事業的盈利大幅增長引人關注,但此外的化學品、電子、鋁業三大事業也達成了中期計劃當初設定的目標,切實提高了各自的盈利能力。
本集團於2019年開始實施的新中期計劃「The TOP 2021」,將以奠定堅實基礎的當下為根本,同時創造值得期待的未來,帶領昭和電工揚帆遠航,實現進一步的成長。其重點是明確諸事業成為個性派事業的顯示差距,從而採取措施不斷縮小差距。
我們還將加強「研發」「市場功能」「轉型AI/loT」「強化生產基礎」等作為實現以上戰略目標的基礎內容。
基於以上經營戰略的推進和實施,昭和電工集團「The TOP 2021」三年內累計的銷售額同比Project 2020+增加了40%,即增加了3.4兆日元,銷售利潤也增加了1.7倍,達4,800億日元,創造了3年內當期淨利潤3,300億日元的業績。
在這些增長中,我們將充分考慮ROA、ROE的資產效率,通過有效且積極的投資將投資增長轉變為進一步的利潤增長。
擴大“個性派事業“
“個性派企業“是本集團的目標和願景,其含義是在昭和電工集團最合適的市場規模中,即在數百億至數千億日元的市場規模中,立志成為「No.1」的”個性派事業聯盟“。
為此,我們必須明確昭和電工各項事業的最優業務劃分。
Project 2020+實施截止到目前為止,我們順利按計劃推進了各個事業最適合的業務劃分。在「The TOP 2021」設定的事業目標中,將進一步優化現行事業的商業模式,擴大增長市場、地區和商業領域,強化和擴大業務領域。包括開拓新事業在內,開闢持續以HD、電子材料用高純度氣體、石墨電極為主導的個性派事業。我們的中長期經營目標是到2025年底,至少有一半以上的現有事業都能成為“個性派事業“。
本公司在完成企業目標成為個性派企業的過程中,在強化各大事業的同時,我們相信價值來源於Customer Experience,因此,我們十分注重顧客體驗價值的最大化。
當今社會,僅憑產品質量和價格已經很難形成絕對優勢,因此,昭和電工不僅追求卓越的產​​品質量,還注重“昭和電工特有的客戶體驗”服務品質,將其作為內部共識開展業務。
致力於持續增長

本集團始終將CSR(企業的社會責任)作為公司經營的根本,以關心環境保護而開展的事業為首,向客戶和社會提供滿意的產品、技術和服務,並獲得了大眾的青睞和認可。與此同時,昭和電工還致力於向企業合規,多元化管理,政企協同治理等方向共同發展。

最近,以EGS(環境、社會、政企協作)和SDGs(可持續性發展目標)進行企業經營的方式一度受到了公眾的質疑。本集團作為一家長期以來穩定收益的公司,大力推動為建設可持續性社會發展做貢獻的事業,將進一步實現企業的成長。

本公司將不懼變革,為創造富裕和可持續發展的和諧社會奉獻力量,實現下一步的飛躍。請大家多多關注我們集團的活動。